Hazing and Abuse at Sea

I’ve got no experience seafaring yet, and I’m concerned about what would happen if I was stuck at sea with someone who had it out for me. During basic training in the Army a couple of guys would intentionally smack me to wake me up at night, so I’d get no sleep at all. In that situation there seemed to be nothing I could do since the Sargeants didn’t care. Is there anything that prevents abusive behavior among crew members?

Harassment should be handled by taking the following steps:

1. Document all incidents/correspondence with parties involved (e.g., the harasser, supervisors, HR, etc.)
  2. Tell the person to stop
  3. Report the problem to a superior if it doesn’t stop
  4. Contact HR if the problem is not remedied

Antagonizers were handled much differently where I grew up, but this is how things are done in current-day corporate America. More than anything, taking the HR route covers [I]your[/I] ass. Even if the person deserves a solid thumping, doing so will leave you [B]both[/B] out of work and money. It should also be noted that the maritime sector isn’t the best career choice if you can’t handle crass humor and a good-natured ribbing.

Do not come to sea.

Mcdonalds is probably hiring, and if you’re already worried about hazing, I would just apply there.

If you’re not an unreliable, lazy piece of shit, who has no common sense and has no clue why they’re at sea, nobody should ever give you any problems. Maybe ask you to tune the radar with tin foil or fetch a bottle of prop wash, but that’s about it.