Boots

Working on deck, what type and brand of work boots do most of you prefer? Are lace up or slip on preferred? Just wondering. Thx

My post isn’t going to help much as I currently work as an assembler making industrial ventilation fans. I wear myself a pair of 8" steel lace up Thorogoods. Made in the USA.

My first pair of boots, so I can’t much compare them, but I find them comfortable. Often I forget I have them on when I get home. I’ve had them less than a year.

I believe people will mention Xtratuff Boots though.

I’ve had both no real difference in durability or comfort between the two.

http://www.tingleyrubber.com/c/footwear_neoprene?pkey=2db8d9ec12c43282d99bc8f15c869fe7&ckey=6248.11195.0.0.0

http://www.xtratufboots.com/product/non-insulated-xtratuf-legacy-safety-toe-15-22271g/performance

For daily wear anything from here is great… http://www.drmartens.com/us/c/Industrial

For me, depends if decks are awash often or not.

If so I like the Northerner Max boot in warmer weather, its lighter and very comfortable. Believe they are made by Honeywell now.

Cooler I like the Xtratuffs and cold I like the Guy Cotten Astron boots. “Foam boots” as they call em.

Dry decks on say a light oil barge or ship I like leather boots and I prefer the snugness of laceups, preferably Redwing. I prefer slip-ons like a wellington or western boot, at home. Preferably Chippewa.

Red wing slip ons/wellingtons here. For some reason I hate dealing with laces…guess I am kinda lazy that way. Red wings are expensive, but you get what you pay for.
At times when I’ve been working for a company that doesn’t cover boots and I gotta pay, if I’m tight on money I’ve gone wolverine. Cheaper than red wings and still make a good pair of boots.