Women on oil rigs?

I’m hoping someone here who works or has worked on rigs can answer a few questions for me. I’m female, 25 years old, and educated (i.e. I have a Bachelor’s degree but it’s in finance, nothing maritime). Bored stiff sitting at a desk for the past 3 years and am interested in a major career change. I’m seriously interested in working on an oil rig, mostly because of the schedule, and of course the pay. I’m not easily intimidated by men (I’m not very “girly” but I’m straight). But it’s not JUST the schedule and pay… it’s the idea of working hands-on in a field that appears to have many opportunities for lateral and vertical movement… the gas and oil field seems to have an infinite amount of possibilities (yeah, I know I could go sit in an office again in the oil/gas field with my finance degree, but I’m not interested in being in a cubicle ever again). So, my questions are:

1. Is it feasible for someone like me with no sea experience, no engineering degree or maritime degree, to get a job on an oil rig?
  2. Are there any female roustabouts or roughnecks? If so, do the men respect them or is it just a bad idea to think I could work as a laborer on an oil rig?
  3. What are the “cushy” jobs on an oil rig (i.e. maybe I need to go get a license of some sort if I can’t expect to get hired as a roustabout)?
  4. What’s more feasible for someone like me who wants to work on a rig: go back to school and get some kind of maritime degree OR could I get hired and work my way up to some watch/managerial/supervisory position in a few years?
  5. What can I TRULY and really expect if I were to work on a rig… being a woman?

Thanks for any information any of you can provide!

Lisa