Any advice on getting a job on a rig or drillship?

I have been out of the industry for for about five years trying to make my way on land. It’s time to ship out again I have recently renewed my Third Mate licence, STCW, radar and I want to work offshore in the gulf. I’ll do whatever it takes to get on a rig and get some time in. I would like to be a BCO or DP operator. <br><br>I am a CMA grad (D-97). I grew up in the Alaskan fishing industry and after school I went back to work there for a couple of years, then I spent three years on tugs pushing around oil barges doing terminal moves and bunkering ships in the Pacific Northwest. Started having kids and decided to try staying at home for a while. Made a good go of it for a while flipping houses but real estate is pretty tough right now and has kicked my ass. I need to go work and resume my maritime career. <br><br>Any advice?<br>I check and apply on Rigzone everyday and spend 3-4 hours a day searching, researching and sending out resumes.<br><br>Anyone out there work for Transocean or Diamond? <br>I have apps in at both but haven’t been able to talk to anyone who knows or will tell me anything.<br><br>I’ve had quite a few classmate who have goten hired through Baker energy and trained and worked as BCO’s and Barge Supervisors over the years, I’ve contacted them but no luck so far. <br><br>I’m not real sure what I’m missing or how to get my foot in the door.<br>Any help would be much apreciated.

Alitak,<br><br>Are you only interested in domestic work (Gulf of Mexico)?<br><br>If you would like to be considered for an international drillship position with TO post your email address in your profile and I’ll contact you offline to see if I can help.<br><br>CaptMRB

Sure I’d consider an international position. <br><br>Feel free to contact me.<br><br>Thanks.<br><br>Anyone else have some international offshore perspective to share?