Getting started in offshore...and DP

So I’ve been sailing for about ten years - all for the same (government) agency. A couple of years ago I got my stuff together and received my Third Mates license, Unlimited. I felt I had an obligation to the company and I stuck around, although not as a mate, as a supervisor for the deck force. I did fill in occasionally, and stood some watches, but mostly deck stuff. I hung around because the agency has been very good to me, not necessarily with pay, but with training and other benefits. However, as a third mate, they really cannot compete. I want to get offshore. I’ve a couple friends at seadrill working as DPOs and met a good number more rig guys when I did my ECDIS course. I’ve made a few inquiries, but it really doesn’t look like anyone is willing to touch me until after I have DP. I’ve been told rigs will occasionally hire a trainee, but they’re often academy guys. My question is this. Do I have any chance landing a DPO trainee position on a rig? If so, how, where, etc… I’ve heard about getting hired on as a mate on an OSV and then moving on once you get DP, although it seems a bit disingenuous to me - although I’m not pulling any sort of moral objection to those that have. In fact, I don’t have any objections to it if thats the way its gotta go. It just seems like there may be companies out there that are willing to home-grow a mate into a DP position. If that’s not the case. Is an OSV the only way to get the aforementioned training? Who’s hiring in that case? I think I make a decent candidate. I don’t jump from ship to ship or company to company. I’m a proven commodity, unlike an academy grad. I’ve got an established track record with experience and references to back me up. Any suggestions on how I can get into this field?

Any help is much appreciated,

OFF

I just saw a posting on rigzone for a dp trainee at a drilling company maybe a week or two ago.