Non-DPO 1600 Captain or Mate Work in the GOM?

Hi gCaptain Readers,
I’m curious to know if there is much (or any) non-DPO, offshore or coastal deck officer work in the Gulf these days? I have a 1600 ton ocean master but only a bit of Gulf experience, just looking for trip or relief work, any short-term spots to stay busy. All I see are DPO positions, plenty of them available it seems, but I won’t be getting into that training pipeline at my young age of 55. I worked my way up with sea-time and know how to drive a boat, usually without whacking anything too hard!
I did a Louisiana tour last year but it was dead slow, spoke to some nice folks but nothing popped up for me.
What about taking an AB spot just to stay busy, reactivate the sea-legs, and get my foot in the door somewhere?
Any advice, suggestions, or warnings are appreciated – thanks in advance!
Thanks from Pat

The need for qualified Masters is good right now. Your age won’t be held against you as far as training goes. In many cases most companies are paying for DP right at new hire. Re-apply with which ever companies you spoke with last year. I’ll bet the tune has changed.

[QUOTE=Paella Pat;69454] All I see are DPO positions, plenty of them available it seems, but I won’t be getting into that training pipeline at my young age of 55. [/QUOTE]

Is the 55 age thing a personal thing, or are you assuming it is a company thing?

I know of two mariners into their 60s that were recently hired and sent to DP school.

Hi Fraqrat and Water,