Where's all the work people are talking about?

I know I’m green as they come but I’m trying bust into the gulf as a deckhand on a crew or supply boat. I’ve spent all day using the search function and found alot of information about how to put rubber to concrete in the bayou. I am a waste water plant mechanic on the gulf coast now with only some commercial fishing experience. I’m hitting the old catch 22 of "no offshore experience. I do have family that work for a smaller crew/supply boat co. So I’ve been over there twice this week. I have blanketed the smaller companies with applications and hope to go knock on doors next week in the bayou. My question to all of you is how did you get started? Is it worth using an “headhunter” ? I am determined to do what ever it takes to get in the gulf. I hear about all the steel coming in and all the new permits. How do ya’ll impress the HR guys? All I have to offer is determination and Mechanical common sense. I want to work up to an Engineer’s credential. Thanks in advance fellas.

Chris

Flinching at the soon to come unavoidable barrage to come.

First…NO FUCKING HEADHUNTERS!

Second…have you applied for your entry level (OS, wiper, food handler) MMCyet? If you haven’t then don’t come back here until you have!

Yes on Entry level OS MMD and have my TWIC in hand . I figured I would catch hell posting but, nothing ventured nothing gained. Barage cant be much worse than a bunch of sewer plant guys I’ve worked around my whole life.

Well I guess if you are already in the shit house you pretty much got no where to go but up.

[QUOTE=VABOY;84145]Yes on Entry level OS MMD and have my TWIC in hand . I figured I would catch hell posting but, nothing ventured nothing gained. Barage cant be much worse than a bunch of sewer plant guys I’ve worked around my whole life.[/QUOTE]