Where in the heck are all the jobs?

I graduated from SUNY Maritime a couple years ago, and I haven’t found a decent job yet!! I know that jobs are short deckside, but I didn’t think it would be this bad. I signed with MMP, but I didn’t want to live and deal with the NY hoopla, so I haven’t found any work with them. There is another company that would offer me work on the side, but the hitches were quick and far between. The only problem that I can think of is that I didn’t grow up on the coast, so I don’t have anyone to lead me down the right path…or hook me up with a job as it seems to be the case. I’ve probably sent out 50 resumes all this time, and I can’t find squat. I know I interview well too, but I haven’t had anyone give me the time of day for an interview. Seems the SUNY Maritime 100% job placement guarantee is a load of bologna. I have had several people tell me the same. Any advice would be appreciated so I don’t starve!

Call the guys you graduated with and get them to submit your resume. It seems down in the oilfield it’s as much who you know as what you know

Sounds like you are expecting someone to GIVE you a job. If I were on the edge of starvation I can’t imagine that I would be too concerned with the MMP and the 'hoopla" in NY. My advice, take a job, any job- until you have the experience. Prove yourself a good seaman, get your name out there and soon you will be turning down work!

Good Luck.

OSG I looking for mates. A 3 mate just quit on my ship

They’re out there for sure… look.