How hard can it really be to get a job?

Alright, i know this will seem nieve of me to ask to a lot of you guys but I just got my Marines document, twic etc. Started knocking on every tug company door in the new york, albany, philly area and have quickly heard back from several names. My number one choice due to location is McCallister. Although they don’t have an immediat eopening, they took all my info and basically said within the next 4 months they should be able to place me. Now I am going for OS only. I was an MM in the Navy so I’m sure that is helping but really I have no experience on tugs in any fashion. If they do give me a job is it going to be some short stint where I work for 3 weeks and am lucky to see work again in a year or is it what I was told true which is that if I commit for a lifetime to them I will get back just as much in return and be able to move up within the company education etc.

Now when applying I told every company the same thing, I loved being at sea, I miss working on boats, I can woirk any day, any holiday and any length of time since I have no family (kids etc. I do have a girlfriend but she put up with my navy time and knows how it is and is actually hpapy with the thought of it not being six months away or more. . .)

I’m just curious more than anything, everyone constantly says there are no jobs, are you talking about captains, AB’s, etc. Am I looking at no future in this industry beyond entry level or is it safe to say I will have opportunities in the future?

Just curious of a general opinion. Thanks!

For me itz very difficult also… I’m @ entry-level an I’m having a difficult time finding a job in tha new York area… I’ve been told I need to get my BST to join a SIU union in Brooklyn… But good luck