Wanting to get started

I’m looking for a change in careers and would like to start working on a tug. I “live” in KY but travel the country for work. If I’m lucky I get to see bluegrass once a month. I know a few people back home that work on boats and it seems like something I would like to do. What is the best way to get started. I have no experience in this field, so I’m expecting to have to start as a deckhand and work my way up. I’m wanting to be able to live in the OH, KY, TN area. With that being said what companies should I look at and what else do I need to do to get started? Thanks for the help.

Search this site, search the web for Tugboat Companies. Inland Rivers are probably your best chance and close to your home.

You can ‘google’ a search for ‘Merchant marine training’, or ‘deckhand training’.

You can rarely just go start in the industry now. You must have some type of training to get hired. A few companies will let you ‘ride’ for a week or so to see if you like it. You will most likely be treated like an ordinary (both a description and a job title) seaman. You can then see if this work style suits you. Not everyone is ‘cut out’ to be gone from land for lengthy times. Often I have seen people do this for six months and walk away.

You will have to decide which type of work you want to do, Coastal tug work, Gulf of Mexico Oil field work, Inland river work, or International shipping. I listed these in order of availability. First listed has the most possibilities for hiring, to the last which is sparse.