Where do you get DPO training?

:confused:I have a Master 1600 ton Lic. oceans w/ Master towing GL,WR,O w/GMDSS, hazwoper, PIC, and the rest. I’ve been looking for work for a year and it seems the employers are looking for DPO on your list of credits. Where does one get the training and what does it cost. I don’t think anyone in the Pacific Northwest has it.:confused:

[QUOTE=Boatahaulic;37078]:confused:I have a Master 1600 ton Lic. oceans w/ Master towing GL,WR,O w/GMDSS, hazwoper, PIC, and the rest. I’ve been looking for work for a year and it seems the employers are looking for DPO on your list of credits. Where does one get the training and what does it cost. I don’t think anyone in the Pacific Northwest has it.:confused:[/QUOTE]

Been looking for the cheapest class. Kongsberg, Houston was the second cheapest so far.
It was a little more than 2k/4~5days induction course last year when I asked…

If anybody has more info, please let us know.

The Course Coordinator
Kongsberg Maritime Inc.
7225 Langtry Street
Houston, TX 77040-6625 - USA
Tel.: +1 713 934 8885
Fax.: +1 713 934 8886
e-mail: km.training.houston@kongsberg.com

http://www.km.kongsberg.com/

if your pockets are deep the facility in Houston may be glad to take your money…becoming a DPO may be more involved than putting money down and going to school as some OTJT maybe required??

http://www.nautinst.org/DP/pdf/DP_OperatorCertificateJan2010.pdf

http://www.nautinst.org/

Seadawg, my pockets are not deep after being out of work for a year. I’m sure OTJT is a must, in a perfect world I could get a job and the company would put me thru the school and the paces. I will check out nautinst. B.

Your best bet right now is to head to the GOM and see about getting on with a company running smaller boats I.E. under 100 tons. After a few months talk to them about DP training and a spot on a DP boat.