DPO - how to start?

Hello

I have been reading this forum and other sites about DP jobs and I’m confused. I am a computer science graduate. I found DP operators to be better paid than software engineers while working much less time. Is that really true? I am thinking now about moving to this profession. Please tell me what is the approximately salary a DPO can earn? Is it difficult for someone like me to get into it?

We have a computer science grad come to us from IBM and he seems to be doing an excellent job. Getting hired is all about contacting the recruiters at the right time. Staying on is all about opening your up to learn a new profession. The fatal flaw I see some make is coming into a DP room with a degree like yours and being too vocal about your abilities. You background will serve you well 2+ years down the road but your primary goal upon arrival should be to learn how WE do things.

I don’t mind learning. I know that I am a total greenhorn right now and I have to learn a completely new profession. That’s not a problem, I am willing to learn. What I am most interested in is, is this profession really so lucrative that I should resign from my current job and launch myself into seafaring?

I don’t mind long periods at sea. In fact I find it better than evenings and weekends in office when the system I code doesn’t work because there is some bug in a component created by someone else and I have to stay until I find that bug.

In fact I know a little this profession since some members of my family work on bulk cargo and container ships. The pay is good, comparable to what a good software developer gets. Before college I considered seafaring but computers seemed better then. Now I see that seafaring can be a really cool job and even better paid than what I chose.