Whats Tidewater like

O.K. First post on gcaptain. I lost my job with my old employer due to the union stabbing us in the back. I am going to be starting with Tidewater Marine as chief engineer and was wondering what people thought of the company, as I have never worked in the OSV field before. I am very thankfull to them for giving me the job, and am just curious what to expect when I start.

Thanks

It will be a soul sucking experience where slashing your wrists may become your only means of escape. They have two “newer” vessels in the gulf. These boats are around 10 years old now. The M/V Damon Bankston and the M/V Pat Tillman. Both of these vessels are well maintained with nice equipment. You probably won’t get to be on either of these. This is where all the senior Tidewater Elite crew work. You will more than likely be on one of the handful of other vessels they still have in the GOM. These are all 20+ years old and you will need a tetanus shot to walk up the gangway. You should run! With a license you can work almost anywhere. Try Chouest, Hornbeck or Harvey Gulf. You probably didn’t know better but there are way better places to work with more opportunity for advancement and way better equipment to sail on.

Fraq is correct that they have probably the worse equipment in the Gulf. Nothing is new but everybody elses is new or nearly so. If you do not need to work immediately, I try to talk with the other companies he mentions before making a commitment to Tidewater. If you need to work right away just plan to do it for a few hitches to learn your way around down in the GoM.