Training On Marine Equipment, Need Help!

Hi,

I’ve been a Marine Engineer working on vessels in the North Sea, and I truly feel the need for extra training on specifics. I know basic operations of everything I work with (just about)
But I want to get a more in depth understanding of what I work with and not just trust what the higher ranked engineer tells me. I want to know if there is any and all courses specific to certain machinery.
Like a course, purely to understand air compressors deal with maintenance and problems etc.

Or separator’s, Specific pumps, refrigeration compressors, deck crane’s, Davits.

Just any marine (or not) training courses/opportunities where I can better develop skills to use in the workplace.

Thanks to anyone that can help me out on this

I don’t know how good your wifi is, but http://www.dieselduck.info/ is a very useful site for general learning.

Maybe get the manufacturer’s data from the manuals onboard? Just a guess. . .

Hey! There are schools located around the nation called “Seaschool” (www.seaschool.com). They also have online courses. Everything is in par with the USCG licenses and education. Hope this helps!

Agree with above, just reading the manuals can be a wonderful thing. Unfortunately, books tend to only get opened when there is a problem. But the books or websites can have contract info for tech support for specific questions. Such as Alfa Laval or Hamworthy.

But yes, some companies do offer specific training. Caterpillar and MAN Diesel offer specific engine courses. Other companies such as Rexroth offer training on hydraulics or Nance for refrigeration.