Submiss alert near Titanic wreck site

This is sad, and not good. Probably the last people to see it in person, as I imagine these tours will be illegal going forward.

I wonder what caused the disappearance.

I sailed over the wreck last Summer, and all that was there was just a buoy. Still very somber.

2 Likes

An update from NYT from 2 hours ago:

The news of the missing submersible recalls an OceanGate trip last year that was the subject of a CBS story. During the trip, the CBS correspondent David Pogue reported that “communication somehow broke down”and that the submersible was briefly lost for a couple of hours.

3 Likes
1 Like

BBC News - Live coverage:

2 Likes

Prayers for their safe return.

1 Like

I have had some experience with the tourist submersibles used over in Hawaii. those had releasable ballast weights that would allow the sub to float to the surface in the event of issues. these were mechanical systems separate from the systems used to operate the sub.
it was reported that there is no escape from inside and that they are bolted down hatches that must be opened from the outside

3 Likes

Of course we all would like to see the safe return of these individuals, in fact Prayers are in order.

But, there’s more than a couple of questions which (IMHO) need to be answered. Questions like who Classes and Regulates these “semi-submersible tourist vehicles”? What Safety Management and Risk Analysis actions go hand in hand? Who licenses and certificate’s the “Pilots”?

Personally, I think that this type of “tourism” should be banned outright unless highly regulated. There are many coastal submersibles and semi-submersibles which are operated in various waters- successfully and generally without incident- but they are generally operating at water depths in less than 75 feet. A scientific mission is one thing, deep ocean tourism another.

God’s Speed for their safe return…

6 Likes