Seattle Maritime Academy and job prospects afterwards

What’s up engineering crowd. I am currently enrolled for the coming engineering technology program at Seattle Maritime and am planning on going for the MEBA union once I graduate with my QMED. are there any people on here who have taken a similar route into the industry? I’d love to get some feedback on whether or not I should go union or private company. I’m currently leaning pretty heavy towards union but are there a good amount of jobs available at the MEBA halls for QMEDS? Thanks.

1 Like

Hey, feel free to PM me with any questions. I graduated from the Engineering program at SMA in 2011.

Hi Sam, unless there is a labor contract I am unaware of, MEBA is a Marine Officers Union. There are no QMED jobs available. Perhaps once you have earned your ticket, you could join the MEBA.

1 Like

Not quite true. Within several Ferry operators MEBA represents qmeds and oilers.

Washington State Ferrys:
M.E.B.A. represents Chief Engineers, Assistant
Engineers, Oilers and Port Engineers

DRBA (Cape May-Lewes Ferry)
M.E.B.A. represents Pilots, Mates, ABs, Ordinary Seamen,
Chiefs, 1st A/Es, 3rd A/Es, QMEDs, Oilers, Wipers, Mechanics
Electricians, Electronic Technicians and Welders

King County Ferry
Licensed Engineers and QMEDs

Yep, you are correct about representing unlicensed personnel in contract negotiations. But are QMED jobs called out of an MEBA Union Hall as Sam indicates he wants to persue? Do these listed unlicensed personnel participate in any of the MEBA Pension and Benefit Plans? Even when MEBA had the short lived merger with the NMU years ago, unlicensed jobs did not get called out of an MEBA hiring hall.

Read his question. There are zero jobs available out of the halls for QMEDs.

Solid retort for the win.