Sea time letter help

So I’ve been working on crew boats in the gulf of mexico since 2010 and just recently switched over to ship assist tugs and wanted to get my towing endorsement. So about 2 weeks ago I applied for my mate pilot of tow and receive bad news today about my seatime letter. I was told by the uscg the letter must state Master on the seatime or it does not count. I have over 1280 day as captain, releaf captain or mate but these days dont count. At the company I work at only the master of the vessel time shows master. Has anyone going through this and if so what did yall do? I was told that if the letter says Captain I’m good but that’s not something the uscg told me. I’m trying to get hold of my old manager and see if theres anything he can do for me.

Following this one. It does say master, not master, mate , or equivelant for mate pilot of towing.

If you have tonnage on your license, I think getting a national 500 or 1600 is the most direct route to master of tow. After that it’s Toar and route time 30 days I believe.

Following for information

Presumably, you must hold Master 100 or Master 200.

This is the problem where a bunch people down in the bayou use non-standard local jargon that has no legally recognized meaning.

If you sailed as Master, the guy in command, then get a seatime letter saying that you were the master.

If you sailed as a “relief captain”, I don’t know what that means, so I’m not surprised that the USCG doesn’t know either. If you were the dude in command, get a letter saying you were master. If you were not in command, but merely in charge of the watch while the master slept, get a letter saying you were the Mate.

You are not going to get Mate of Towing with crewboat Seatime.