Renewing licenses

I Have held an unlimited Master of Rivers license since I was 21 years old, also First Class Pilot on the Mississippi River since I was 19 years old. I served as a tug Capt., then ship pilot, for many years until 1997 when I was injured in 1997. My doctors all advised me to retire, which I did, and now years later at age 66 I am terribly bored and would consider any type of teaching job as I feel it would be terrible to take almost 50 years experience to the grave with me, but I failed to renew my licenses since I retired. I recently been told I would have to start all over to be able to get my license renewed, it wasn’t like this years ago, the CG would renew your license out of respect with some proof of need. If I graduated from college would they take my Diploma back 50 years later, I don’t think so. Well, I guess my knowledge is destined for the graveyard, what a shame !

I don’t think you need a USCG endorsement to teach. There may be specific employers that want you to have one but from what I’ve read it’s not required, (kinda like a DP Cert.!)

Every teaching job I have ever seen advertised requires a license. Most require unlimited oceans. I think it is required by the USCG for their course approvals.

(To clarify, this is in relation to the deck department. Engineering is probably quite different.)

No need to think, go to the source.

http://www.uscg.mil/nmC/marpers/pag/1-99.pdf

J-Dude,

Review the CFR info Steamer posted. In addition, I know for certain courses you need 1600 Master or higher for the specialized stuff (Radar, etc…) However, you may be able to become a lecturer. Someone with the license would “supervise” the course and you could lecture and be part of the course as kind of an adviser. I also think you would be an excellent candidate to be on a bridge simulator team.

I do not know where you are located but it sounds from your post there is stuff close so hit the phones and start networking.

Good Luck!