Question for TUGBOAT guys

I’ve been sailing blue water for 15 years. My current rating is AB unlimited. I’d like to spend more time on the beach so I’ve been looking at tugs. I have a couple of applications in but heard immediately from CONSOL energy in Pittsburgh. Money is decent for a first job in a career transition and the benefits are good, BUT they apparently have a revolving door problem. Can’t keep people and are having a hard time recruiting anyone. Okay, it’s an energy company and having worked in the oil patch I know what dicks the oil and gas guys are, but a revolving door in this economy doesn’t make sense unless they’re water boarding guys for showing up 3 minutes late for watch. 14/7 is fine with me but the deckhands work a 6 hour on/off rotation which seems insane. 6 and 6 is a burnout schedule. When an AB goes down on a deep sea vessel the two healthy guys will stand 6/6 but it’s temporary. I can see 12/12 or even 8/8, but at 6/6 you never get any real sleep. Is this standard on tugs?

6/6 was the norm when I was standing watch in the NAVY and for four years of wire tugs out of New York (which wrapped up in May). My company dallied with CEMS and had a couple boats experimenting with 7/5/5/7 and 8/4/4/8. If I had to guess, they are back to 6/6 by now. Unless yer offshore doing long haul, on a tug (something designed to collide with others) you ain’t getting fabulous sleep ANYWAY; especially doing harbor work.