New to the Maritime industry and need help

I am needing to know where to start in my process of finding a job. I have a 50 ton master license with towing, my stcw-95 basic safety, and a passport. I am trying to get a job on a cargo ship, tanker or pretty much any other type of boat. I have put in application after application with absolutely no results. I have 0 experience on a ship and that seems to be my biggest problem. Any other suggestions on where to go and what to do are greatly appreciated.

LA 1 South,in south Louisiana, mad boat companies , I just packed my bags and drove down there went door to door and got hired that day.

50t will get u nothing down there, but STCW is a big plus and u need a MMD, and a TWIC

Hi are there any more job openings?please call 504-570-8279

[QUOTE=keigler2;55332]Hi are there any more job openings?please call 504-570-8279[/QUOTE]

That is NOT how it is done. People don’t call you, YOU have to call, beat the bushes and GET a job. They aren’t handed out.

Hahahaha that’s deff. Not how it’s DONE, would be nice though

I have my twic card and I understand about my capt license I wasn’t really expecting anything out of that. But is a mmd part of my capt license? That’s what I’ve been told. I think I will take your advice and go on a road trip soon and “beat the bushes”. Thanks for the help

Make sure you have your TWIC card before you take that road trip, and as far as your mmd if you have a card or an orange passport u have it, if it’s just a certificate that shows 50t u don’t, not sure how that works

[QUOTE=snookyred66;55347]I have my twic card and I understand about my capt license I wasn’t really expecting anything out of that. But is a mmd part of my capt license? That’s what I’ve been told. I think I will take your advice and go on a road trip soon and “beat the bushes”. Thanks for the help[/QUOTE]