Looking to sail

At one point a while back, I have considered to work as a OS. Things happen and I had to put that on hold,

A friend of mine was a AB for Crowley and have recently try to talk me into sailing. Unfortunately I have no experience, but I know that is what the OS is for. I spent the last 8 years working in aviation, and from my stand point, my career is not going to go further than it already is, especially the pay. My friend tells me that I would be a valuable person since I have over 8 years experience in handling fuel, but I do not see what I can do, or what part of the industry I should start or who would take me.

I currently do not hold a MMC or a TWIC, but I know that I can get a TWIC since I already carry a SIDA (for airports)

My current problem is that I am overweight, I used to be heavier (355) and I have already dropped down to 310, and still working on it, but slowly. My friend assures me that I will be all right, but I am worried about some of those tight spaces that I may have to go into. That is my biggest issue is my weight, and would I be all right?

You need to be able to pass a USCG physical. BMI is part of passing that physical. If you are 5’0" you won’t make it. If you are 6’6" you might be ok. I believe the limit is 40. Check on the National Maritime Center website. You can read a little more about it on this forum. http://gcaptain.com/forum/professional-mariner-forum/5379-body-mass-index-bmi-united-states-coast-guard.html

A guy with a BMI over 40 can pass. There is no BMI cutoff. If BMI is over 40, the guy is subjected to more demonstrations of physical agility, reducing the likelihood of passing.

I would hire a beginning OS who is 6’ 4", 355 lbs, strong,reasonably agile, and an enthusiastic worker with a good personality , especially if he is a good cook. However, I would not hire a fat ass OS that is not strong and agile.

A skillful and experienced captain can be 5’ tall and 5’ in diameter, but not an OS.