Equal Time

Interested in finding maritime employer offering equal time on/off. Currently working inland tugs, but interested in offshore and other maritime sectors as well. I understand RQ Construction does 1 month on/off, Vain Bros I’ve heard offers equal time. Anyone here have any suggestions?

Thanks.

Kirby offshore is all equal time if I’m not mistaken. Dann Ocean Towing is now offering equal time as well.

Most tug companies on the west and east coast do even time, or at least offer it. Keep in mind, some companies may tell you 30/30 but it really turns out to be 38/28. Reliable crew changes will depend on the location/run.

2/1 rotations are mostly on OSVs and the gulf, but a few companies down there offer even time. You may want to be more specific about companies you are looking at and what credentials you have?

Okay. Thanks for the suggestions.

I have an AB Unlimited, Masters 100 ton, Near Coastal, and Apprentice Mate of Towing currently.

What kind of schedule are you looking for?

Last I heard, the companies that you mentioned were toward the lower end of the pay range.

Was interested in equal time up to a month. Two weeks on/two weeks off sounds perfect - not sure if anyone offers that - 3 wks on/3 wks off or one month on, one month off. Just wanted to see what was out there if anything. Current schedule is 2 weeks on, 1 off (6 days really) and drive to/from work is currently taking up two days each way typically so 6 days is feeling short/too brief. Wasn’t sure what other trends were.

Where do you want to work?

I think 14/14 is quite common for the drive to work guys on the East Coast. There are some West Coast jobs like that too.