DP Cable Ships

Hi,

I’m a recent maritime graduate and just quit offshore to work on DP cable ships. I find this sector of the industry very interesting, and I am hoping to learn more as I move up. Can anyone help me come up with a list of companies (besides TE Subcom) that perform this type of work? Thanks!

You “quit” working offshore before even knowing what companies to apply to? Or do you have a job but are looking for other opportunities?

Reckon they’re all foreign. If you’re not foreign you’re probably out of luck?

With a username like that, this must be a “highly experienced officer” that should skip DP and go straight to the top at Coastal.

How did you get that username? Did you taste your urine?

I’ll bite because I’m curious what rig you were laid off from? I cut ties a few years ago when the lawyers showed up. No one just leaves in this downturn. Is it the Tom Madden, Danny or the Douche-scoverer?

If you weren’t cut from the team I’d suck it up a little bit longer hand. You should never leave a job before you secure another job even if you saved up a glut of Fuck You money.

Tyco/Te Subcom (ATT) are all AMO gigs. I’d stay away from AMO myself but to each his own. Really nice Marshall Island Flagged Specialty Vessels. I’ve been aboard the dependable loading in Portsmouth NH. If you get lucky to land a 3/M spot you could be out of a job if the vessel gets laid up and has no work. Don’t need turd mates at the dock.

Might look into MSC if you don’t have a family/dog/girlfriend and need steady employment. If you have a DP cert you could secure a billet on the USNS Zeus. Get it set in stone before accepting a position if you decide to go this route.

No other cable ships are within reach unless you “know a guy” at Helix or Technip.