100 Ton Captain getting out of the tourist trade

I’m a licensed 100 NC Capt with STCW 95 and Commercial Assistance Towing. Ive been working for several years in Florida on Dinner Cruise boats but the market just like most places as fell off. I’m trying to get in with Crew Boats and/or Mini OSV’s somewhere in the gulf so I can advance in my career. Also, being 30 years old gives me a chance to get on with someone long term. Ive been on the water all my life, I come from a VERY large maritime family. I’ve applied anywhere I can but seem to have hit a wall…any advice???

Don’t quit your dinner boat job just yet. Things are bleak in the commercial world, and the predicted turnaround in the maritime industry is 2013. In the meantime, upgrade to 500 ton master as soon as you can, because the USCG is changing STCW soon, eliminating 500 ton, and you’ll have to go for 1600 ton with all the course work and OICNW assessments. If you have the sea time, do it NOW.

What Doug Pine said. I’m also 30, a 100 ton master, made my career on the water, an experienced crewboat captain, and can’t find work. I’m currently on day 3/4 of PSC Lifeboatman class. I’ll be turning in my application for AB Unlimited once I get my diploma from this class, and hopefully get a job chipping paint.

Moral of the story: 100 ton masters are a dime a dozen right now. Don’t quit your job.

It’s worse than that. 1600 ton Oceans Masters with Master of Towing Oceans are a dime a dozen right now. Many of us working as AB these days, or fishing.

Little bit off topic, but… Doug, where did you pull the date of 2013 for a turnaround? Not that I disagree, just wondering your source/referance

Thanks
Ocean

[quote=Ocean31;23195]Little bit off topic, but… Doug, where did you pull the date of 2013 for a turnaround? Not that I disagree, just wondering your source/referance

Thanks
Ocean[/quote]