Writer has probably got everything wrong. Needs help

Hi. My name’s William Shaw and I’m a professional writer – but I chose to set a novel on a super yacht that gets hijacked and have probably got a lot of my marine details wrong.

I need someone kind to volunteer to read a few sections and hopefully suggest viable alternatives if I’ve embarrassed myself. There is stuff set on the bridge that relate to navigation and safety, and the are scenes set below, when the yacht’s electrical systems are disabled by a rogue ETO.

There are a hundred ways to black out a yacht that could not be reversed by anyone onboard even if they were lucky or skilled enough to find even one of them and had the parts to fix it.

It doesn’t take a “rogue ETO” so don’t try to make it like bypassing the safeties on a nuclear weapon or it will read like a comic book tale.

2 Likes

Thanks…

… and any advice gratefully received.

The best advice I can offer is for you to visit a megayacht, talk to the engineers and see for yourself how systems are powered, how power is distributed, and what kind of failures would put an end to the hijacking within minutes and leave the boat adrift.

1 Like

The problem is there would be any number of handheld devices that would not go down immediately if the boat’s generators and batteries were disabled. Hell - my cellphone has a nav app that would work just fine until it went dead.
Also see any PLBs/ELTs and handheld VHFs :wink:

They won’t be doing much navigating without rudder control unless the hijackers have enough hands to crank the emergency steering for some extended period. Not to mention enough spare handheld batteries to keep talking until the CG shows up.

The only way I could see it happening is if the entire crew was part of the plan. Also, I doubt the ETO would be of much use anyway since most of them are just IT and AV guys in real life and probably couldn’t help much with the engineering stuff.