Writer seeking help... can a ship lose ALL comms?

Hello… I’m a fairly successful writer of crime fiction based in the UK but I’d love to write a story set on a modern ship. I have SO many questions and my ignorance is immense, but I’m hoping for a story in which passengers and crew on board a modern vessel become completely isolated – in other words they lose all communications. There is a baddie involved, so things can be done to existing equipment, but what would have to happen for a vessel to lose any ability to communicate with the outside world?

All help gratefully received.

1 Like

Welcome. We could definitely use more sea-based fiction. But it is hard for me to imagine how a ship could lose all comms. Perhaps if an EMP took out all of the communication satellites. That would force the ship to use HF comms on the open sea. But HF is definitely viable.

2 Likes

Fairly easy to lose some comms, more difficult to lose all. Modern satellite communications for email and phone cut out more often than they should. Last year some space debris took out one of the leading provider’s satellites and caused quite the blackout, lasting days for some vessels.

For regular old radio communications, single side band, HF/UHF, etc you would need to lose the primary power supply and the battery back up. Batteries will drain eventually over the course of hours depending on the load after the main power is lost. That leaves you with hand-held satellite phone if you have one.

I think you mean “all” ability.

Sorry you said you’re a writer, so it’s fair under the rules of internet civility, i.e. no civility.

Polar route, 60 degrees latitude plus, north or southern latitude. The best single point failures for all comms are the antennas (absent cell phones, which are unlikely to get signal remotely) grouped so a local damage event can be engineered intentionally or otherwise…