Why did we stop CAPITALIZING ship names?

When I graduated from California Maritime Academy more than a few years ago it was practice that when referring to an ocean going vessel the name was ALWAYS CAPITALIZED and properly underlined, an inland water vessel could be in quotation marks i.e. The Overseas Marilyn should be the MV OVERSEAS MARILYN, (I can’t underline it so I guess I can accept that compromise).
Anyway many ships are named for Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, and the diverse labor and skillsets to build these ocean going providers of a comfortable society should be recognized.
I witnessed a steel repair in the forepeak of my present ship and can honestly say the Cistene Chapel has a rival!!!

Id reckon it has to do with the age of computers, most formatting styles call for ships names to be Italicized. Similar fate for book titles, which at one point were also underlined. You can’t consistently Italicize handwritting, so block+undeline is the next best way to differentiate.

As you’ve discovered, markdown doesnt naively support underlinig, which is why all caps was likely in favor, until some fancy pants typography nerd said we had to start using Italics, which is supported by markdown most of the time. In mark down, Italicized text is stored *like this* so on simpler, early programs it was likely easier to use all caps to add the emphasis.

It looks like most style guids agree on the ship prefix to be capitalized and the Name Italicized - MV Overseas Marilyn.

Long story short, style guides change, as does the english language. Dictionaries are descriptive, not prescriptive, and written language adapts to best suit it’s users.

5 Likes

As evidenced by the fairly recent convention of sprinkling apostrophes preceding the “s” at the end of plural nouns and the possessive pronoun “it”. Per AP style, if it’s a ship, its name should be in italics. :thinking: