Who has gone from 1600/mate to 3rd unl mate?

I have researched the CFR’s and have come up with the conclusion that I have to work for 3 years as an AB on unlimited tonnage vessels to upgrade from 1600/mate to 3rd mate unl. I do see the 1600ton/master part where it says you can work for a year on vessels over 200GT as Master to upgrade, but thats prob not gonna happen anytime soon. Along with my 1600ton/mate I have a 500/Master, both Oceans. I know this has been debated on here, but Im asking for someone’s insight who has actually made this move…all post the feb1, 2002 date too. Do I have to go back to being an AB for 3 years on UNL vessels to make this move?

No, you only need 1080 days on vessels over 200 grt.

Search for comments about that from jdcavo. He’s a lead policy guy from the USCG that is also a mariner, and frequent advisor here. From what I understand, you can get your 3000 master then sail master over 500(itc) for a year. You’ll probably get a tonnage limitation if all your time is on smaller vessels, though.

[QUOTE=dgillum214;76478]Search for comments about that from jdcavo. He’s a lead policy guy from the USCG that is also a mariner, and frequent advisor here. From what I understand, you can get your 3000 master then sail master over 500(itc) for a year. You’ll probably get a tonnage limitation if all your time is on smaller vessels, though.[/QUOTE]

Thanks…I did see his name around here somewhere.

I had a 500 ton master/1600 ton mate (oceans) in 2006. I was able to upgrade to 3rd unlimited without testing. However I had considerable time as an AB on an unlimited vessel. It also may depend on when you tested for 1600 ton mate.

You will have s tonnage restriction if you don’t have 540 days over 1600 grt though.