Union Shipping information

I am considering making a move from the oil field lifestyle to the merchant fleet shipping with the union. I am an engineer currently sailing on a drill ship. I have had some talks with shipmates that made the opposite switch but would like some diverse input and information. I am considering the switch for a few reasons. From what I understand the union gives you the freedom to ship whenever you want. Is this a fact? Is there any obligation I am not aware of that would require me to ship more than 3 or 4 months out of the year? How is the Union lifestyle? How does it all work? Any information will be helpful and I would appreciate it.

You can sail with MEBA when you want as 2nd and 3rd engineer as those jobs come off the job board. The 1st and chief jobs are permanent (70/70, or 90/90) and a few reliefs are called for 1st engineers when both 1st’s have commitments (graduations, marriages, family deaths, etc. Usually the 1st relief jobs are short ones ( one round trip).

You can sail as much or as little as you want in the MEBA. You would need so many days for pension credit and medical. Medical is 60 days for 6 months coverage. 240 days for pension but that also includes vacation so you can convert OT to get more vacation days if needed. 2nd and 3rd mostly but lately there has been a lot of relief 1st available. Your best bet would be to head down to a hall local to you and speak with an agent or rep