Career advice

Well, I guess I’m another guy asking for some career advice.

i
I’ve been working in the maritime industry about 9 years (before that, yachts). I did a few years as a cook, then a few years as a QMED with one of the big oilfield supply boat companies, and now I’m starting my 4th year as a sole engineer on an ocean going tug.

I currently hold a 2nd Assistant Engineer, Oceans, Unlimited HP license.

I like my current job, but the boats are pretty old and I feel like I’m getting behind on my up to date knowledge. I’m not a born mechanic by any means, and definitely feel like I’m behind the curve for a lot of the industry.

But, my biggest concern is my future ability to retire. I’m saving a hefty amount in an IRA, but minimal (1%) company match.

So, I guess the question is - what’s the next step? Join MEBA and work towards that pension? I kinda cringe at the idea of 4 month hitches (I currently do 1 month on/ 1 month off). Try to start buying rental properties and hope for the best?

I’d love to work for somewhere with a real retirement plan and a decent schedule (we all would, right?). I’m pretty out of the loop; I don’t even know what companies to apply to.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

1 Like

re: Joining MEBA

If you wanted to join MEBA i’d wait until you had your 1 a/e. There are always a ton of new grads looking for the 3rds jobs and a lot of the older guys with seniority will snag good 2 a/e jobs. The 1 a/e jobs are a lot easier to find because people either don’t have the license or don’t want to sail 1st. Almost anytime you walk into the hall there will be a Seacor/CGL or Liberty first job on the open board.

There is also the option to join and register and continue working your current job. Let your card age. Go to the hall when you want to during your time off.