Tugboat crew staffing how many of each rate?

I’m still at the entry level and trying to decide the age old question of engine or deck. I was a shoreside engineer in the navy so naturally I have experience there, however I’ve always wanted to be on the bridge. So my question is does every tugboat have an on board engineer or would I be limiting myself? Just look at pushboat and tugboat company employment pages I constantly see AB and OS and mate openings but very few engineer and wiper oiled etc openings. I want to work on a tug so I’d like to be the most valuable and have the most usable skills. I am also very interested in OSV work but know very little about it. any info and opinions are appreciated.

If you work on a tugboat you either an os or an AB. Depending on the line of work tugboats usually have for harbor work a captain, mate, engineer, a deckhand which can be an os.

To me the biggest difference between engine and deck is the opportunities shoreside. As an engineer you will have more opportunities shoreside in the event that you get layoff or decide to stay home and not be away from your family. Engineers can find jobs with construction companies, Hospitals, and Trucking companies. Wheelhouse guys have a very hard time finding jobs shoreside.

As far as the wiper or QMED positions those are hard to find o/b a tug, most guys work as deck hands until a position opens up in the engine room. Tug Chief engineers have no help other than the deck crew (Chief eng= wiper, QMED, and assistant eng) so their are no entry level positions. With that said their are some tugs that do have wipers and or QMEDs but they are hard to find. If you decide to get o\b an OSV entry level positions are a must and everywhere. So I believe you may have a better chance onboard an OSV.

Good luck!