Tugboat jobs?

<span class="postbody]I’ve been working aboard OSV in the Gulf for the past two years and currently find myself unemployed. I’m interested in finding work on a tug (preferably out of the NW) but I have little experience (9mo.) on tugs. I hold a 500 ton Ocean Masters license and have experience on a variety of vessels, though I realize this in no way qualifies me for the wheelhouse of a tug. My question is this: Are there companies that are actively hiring licensed mariners with the specific intention of getting them the training they will need to operate a tug? I realize this is a sensitive subject within the tugboat community–and I’m not looking to bypass the years of experience a tugboat master needs–I’m just looking for credit for the experience I already have (inflammatory stuff I know). I’ve heard some companies are offering what they call a “Fast Track” program that takes advantage of the new license schemes available. Does anyone have a lead on a company that is not only looking to get new mates in the wheelhouse but also willing to give them the time and experience they need?</span>

I don’t know if you’ll have much luck without the MOTV but try Dunlap Towing in LaConner.
Their website shows they have mate’s jobs available.
Btw, isn’t there something called “apprentice mate” now which allows you to sail in the wheelhouse while you get the TOAR completed?
Good luck to you and tell us what you find…

cheers

1 Like