Engineer opportunities vs. deck

I am just looking for opinions on engineering opportunities aboard OSV vs Deck for someone just starting out. I was a shoreside engineer for the navy for years but worked at a yard not on a ship, so I don’t have that much sea time, I was leaning towards going after a deck job but recently have been considering going back to what I’m good at so in your opinion are there more engineering jobs or deck jobs around, hows the advancement in both, etc.

I think I have enough seatime from my few little bits here and there to get AB OSV or QMED so I guess that is where I would stand, still waiting on my navy records.

Well it really depends on what your good at. Just a thought though as you seem to be set on the OSV sector, work as a QMED for 2 years(720 sea time), get your DDE 4000 and your C/E OSV 4000 and then you will be making 180k-200k a year. The deck side is the same thing, but takes a little longer.

[QUOTE=liftedlimo;67903] get your DDE 4000 and your C/E OSV 4000 and then you will be making 180k-200k a year. The deck side is the same thing, but takes a little longer.[/QUOTE]

That much money on an OSV for a chief engineer? How much of that would be taxed? Over here in the UK, in my company on an OSV the chief engineer is on no more than $65k

If you look at the offshore forum you will see that 50% of the posts are about how much one company is making vs another. We have a bidding war right now. A chief engineer or Master is making anywhere from $725/day on a small ship to $925/day on a larger ship, plus seniority pay just in my company alone. Drill ships pay more then $1000 from what I have heard.

$65 or £65? Is that before or after taxes?