Training options for transition to 3rd asst engineer from ABET mechanical engineer

Thank you in advance for the advice.

What options do I have to obtain requirements to sit for the 3rd Asst engineer exam and earn the required STCW endorsements in the quickest most efficient way possible?

I’m not against going back to school, but I’d like to keep it at a maximum of 1.5 years for an all-in program. Is it possible to sail to get the sea-time and do an intense STCW school? Is there a type of grad-school or transition program at the academies or other schools that is designed for people like me?

I have a mechanical engineer degree from ABET school, USA Born, 10 years experience in power plants in operation, heavy maintenance (steam turbine-generator overhauls), and training operators. Experience on steam turbines, gas turbine, and medium and slow speed 2 stroke 40MW diesels.

My last 5 years has been specifically steam turbine-generator outages and operational troubleshooting. I’m looking to do a slight career shift and desire to get my 3rd asst engineer unlimited and required STCW endorsements. So many steam turbines power plants have been shut down in the USA and I’m just looking for a change. I’m used to living on the road for work and doing 12 hour days for 3+ months. I don’t want to work in an office 9-5.

With the ABET mech eng degree, I need 6months of engine room time.

I also need the STCW endorsements to meet OICEW. Is it possible to sail as a 3rd AE without OICEW? I’ve tried to do my homework, but the rules are confusing.

In accordance with 46 CFR 11.329(a) and paragraph 2.2 through 2.5 of STCW
Regulation III/1, an applicant
for an STCW endorsement as OICEW shall be not less than
18 years of age and must provide sati
sfactory evidence of the following:
1)
Service as follows:
i)
Thirty-six months of seagoing serv
ice in the engine department; or
ii)
Successful completion of an approve
d training program that includes a