3rd AE by getting Electrical or Mechanical engineering degree?

I was just looking through the official licensing docs and it says under third assistant engineer requirements:

Graduation from the mechanical
or electrical engineering course of a
school of technology accredited by the
Accreditation Board for Engineering
and Technology, together with six
months of service in the engine department
of steam or motor vessels;

Does this mean a bachelor’s or associates degree?

Is this a common way to get a 3AE license? I have a bachelors in computer science. I could probably get a 2nd degree in electrical engineering technology in a year or so.

Thanks

I’ve never met anyone who got their license this way, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. No idea how common it is.

A degree in electrical engineering technology is NOT the same as a degree as electrical engineering. I am willing to bet that it has to be a BSEE or BSME for it to fly with the USCG.

I have only met one person that was able to get thee license this way. She had graduated from MIT with an EE masters. What she had to do was get her QMED’s and sail on them for six months and then she was able to take the 3A/E exams. And that was with no prior sea time. We found that she was way over her head as this was her first time ever at sea let alone as a third.

The is also the fact that even with that degree, you would have to complete minimum STCW requirements which have come in since that ‘exception’ was put in the CFR. This means STCW schools, firefighting 1&2, basic safety, lifesaving, medical care provider, first aid, lifeboatman, and enough sea service as QMED, and to get the onboard assessments.

Unless one already has such a degree, a person might as well go to an academy, which gives you a good general Engineering degree, and get the marine specific training including all STCW requirements.