A.A.S. Degree in Marine Engineering

I’m a Florida resident considering going back to college to pursue an in-state A.A.S. Marine Engineering degree. I’ve reviewed the USCG requirements for wiper, oiler, QMED and 3rd A/E, however I’ve not found anything specifically referencing an associate’s degree.

The degree program includes courses in basic welding, several diesel engine courses and auxiliary systems (among others).

Would there be any advantage, other than cost, to take the training as part of an A.A.S. degree in Marine Engineering vs. taking engineering courses at MPT or similar mariner training schools?

The program indicates that several ABYC certificates are earned during the two-year program. Do ABYC certificates have any benefit as far as counting towards the requirements for QMED or 3rd A/E?

Is there any benefit to a two-year degree if one is seeking to work in the engine room of a tug, private/charter yacht, containership or tanker?

Thanks,

Koa

2 Likes

Unless it’s an ABET accredited program, probably not, at least in terms of credit towards meeting the service requirements for an endorsement.

No.

1 Like

I don’t think there’s any particular advantage to a two year degree in seeking work in an engine room. You still won’t be an academy grad.

The only advantage I would see is some port engineer jobs require some sort of a college degree, even if it’s a garbage one, and that could be an opportunity you want later in your career. More and more that requirement is being replaced by ‘equivalent industrial experience’ though.

1 Like