Electrical Engineer looking to switch careers

Hello-
I am new to the forum and am impressed with all the information around, so thanks to all who contribute.
Basically, I am looking to get into the merchant mariner life.
I have an Electrical Engineering degree from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and spent the spring of 2005 at sea on the Golden Bear with the CMA…so I have already technically been a merchant marine once…and frankly I loved being at sea. Granted we, the Cal Poly, students had a different life on board ship than the CMA cadets, but I still got a pretty good taste of what it is like.
Anyways, I graduated in 2007 and have been working in a cube job ever since and am done with it. I am now looking into what it would take to transition in to the merchant marine life and how possible it is to get employed without going through a full academy and/or what the best routes would be at this point.
Also, does having me BSEE help or would I pretty much be starting at the very bottom no matter what until I get some other certs etc?

I appreciate any advice.
Thanks!

yes, you can get seatime credit for having an engineering degree but somebody else here will have to give you the specific citation in the CFRs. What is your forte in EE? Drillships have some of the most complex electrical systems of any ship afloat and a person well versed in HV and frequency drives can write their own ticket.

CFR 46 11.516 paragraph (5)

“(5) Graduation from the mechanical or electrical engineering course of a school of technology accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, together with six months of service in the engine department of steam or motor vessels;”

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&SID=3a2b89f6c05e079dc6d7dec7747204dd&rgn=div8&view=text&node=46:1.0.1.2.11.5.7.9&idno=46