Green and going

I have been mining the internet looking at any maritime website available. There are many websites with promises that paint a very rosey picture of maritime employment. What is the reality of it all? I am wanting to take my electrical training and all this maintenance and construction experiance and do something practical. Other than an mmd and a twic card, what do I need to become an electrician on the water?

For your views thanks. I am gaining info from many places. I realize my wording is off because I don’t know anything yet, but I am learning. I am finding that marine electrical is a small specialized field you cant just walk into with a large corporation. I am now looking for small and mid-size companies. I will take an apprentice gig but I am really wanting to be on the water. Any suggestions for companies that will take a 2 year degree? I really don’t want to wait till I have a Bachelors in engineering to get my foot in the door.

All the Marine electricians that I have worked with on the water came from the SIU or the MFOW. Otherwise most of the time if a ship isn’t carrying an electrician, it will fall on the 3 AE

[QUOTE=brjones;59089]All the Marine electricians that I have worked with on the water came from the SIU or the MFOW. Otherwise most of the time if a ship isn’t carrying an electrician, it will fall on the 3 AE[/QUOTE]

Who fixes computer problems on the ship, for example, the navigation stuff?

With certain 2 year degrees, you can work as an ET in the oil field. They pay fairly good.

[QUOTE=MariaW;59117]Who fixes computer problems on the ship, for example, the navigation stuff?[/QUOTE]