Tough industry for no experience

I’ve had my MMD and Twic for over a year now and have not had any luck at all getting onto a tug as OS/WIPER/FH. I have been steady faxing and emailing resumes and letters with little to no response and follow up calls are answered by what sounds like an irritatable HR person who gets several calls a day and doesnt want to give any information.
I have no sea time under my belt and am looking at getting on a tug or inland barge type of job rather than something deep sea. Thankfully I do have a job so I dont want to leave it for something other than an inland position but is it realistic to get a harbour job with no experience as OS? I have been working in an office for the last 6 years in marketing and sales but before that operated heavy equipment such as Forklifts etc and have more than just office experience. I feel that my resume may be overlooked due to my lack of experience and office work for so long.
I live in Jacksonville,FL and would have no problem commuting anywhere in the south including Texas so have been applying accordingly, any advice is welcomed and appreciated. Thank you for the help!

[QUOTE=Greenhorn325;26246]…but is it realistic to get a harbour job with no experience as OS?[/QUOTE]

No, it isn’t. But don’t let that keep you from trying. If this is something you really want to do, you will find a way. It might not be soon, but it can happen. Right now there are folks with years of experience sitting on the beach trying to find work. Until the economy turns around you are most definitely at the bottom of the barrel. Good thing you have a day job.