Desperate need of help

Start off with my credentials 50ton,ab special, lifeboat, stcw bst.

I have very little commercial experience, 30 days marine construction and currently 3 months working on a commuter ferry (Not much in terms of maritime type work…simple stuff). I want to work on a tug/ship…called all the union halls and they have AB unlimited’s sitting around waiting so me with little experience have little chance of getting in. Also with this economy no one is hiring and if they do they would hire someone with more experience with me.

I tried to applied for supply utility with Military sealift command and did not make the cut…if I can’t get in with them who can I get in with?? is anyone hireing? i just want a job on a ship/tug pay really does not matter I just want experience, cause once I have experience then jobs will be easier to find.

Also i live in MA and seems like the tugs down south would not work out i could not afford to travel or live down there on a 14/14 type schedule on the rates they pay…I just want a job pllllleeease help me out what direction should i be looking who is easy to get with??

WalMart.

Seriously. In this market you’re pissing in the wind, especially if you’re unwilling to travel.

well I am willing to travel but if I go down south on a 14/14 or 14/28 how can i live or travel for 135 a day or what ever they pay?

did you try NOAA?

It may not be a tug, but there are positions available on rigs. Some either provide travel on subsidize it. Entry level guys are 40-55K first year working even time schedules. Realize you will make a few bucks here and there going to training classes, etc.

http://www.noblecorp.com/Career/Offshore/Roustabout.asp

It is a job.

http://www.enscointernational.com/default.aspx?id=154

http://www.deepwater.com/fw/main/Current-Job-Openings-300.html

http://www.seadrill.com/

http://www.prideinternational.com/fw/main/Home-59.html