SUNY Maritime Has Lost It's Touch

As a current student, I don’t like to write this but I feel as if more discussion on the matter could make me feel better. During my tenure at the Maritime College, I feel as if I’ve watched the quality of instruction drop tremendously in just 3 years. Unwise spending as put the school in a deficit, and by raising my costs and fees they feel justified in spending money on large expensive electronic greeting signs at the front of campus (Yes I know this was a SUNY purchase but the money runs up from somewhere, this multi million dollar project could have been spent on upgrading classrooms, outdated labs, or on acquiring teachers that have more experience to offer than that of the 1980s. While the passing rate of the school has gone up, the obvious signs of poor academic integrity has grown even more. I can personally say that I have witnessed instructors address that they know students are cheating in their classes, but do nothing about it. This devalues my degree, and makes me look bad when they get out and get jobs and are clueless to what they are doing. Going into the license program, both departments have major setbacks. Cruise is a joke. Cruise will always be taken as a joke. Nothing is learned. Gaining any lick of knowledge from an instructor is next to impossible. When taking seminar on cruise, it is by far a better choice to sleep through lectures so you can teach yourself everything later into each night. Nothing is learned while standing watch, and most work days are spent going back to sleep. The dorms here are beginning to fall apart, most of the classrooms are in a similar manner (Most classrooms still only have VGA computer inputs which are very outdated and chalkboards. Maritime has fallen drastically behind the curve, and I am afraid I am too. The regimental officers offer little to no leadership capabilities, and their high salaries are justified by saying they are “leadership mentors”. I’ve learned nothing except