Reference Books

I’m studying for a Mate 1600 ton NC upgrade using a variety of resources including upgradeU and Captain Joe’s. One of the features that is really nice about Captain Joe’s is the provided reference for each question. Unfortunately these are mostly abbreviated or listed only by the authors last name. I have recently emailed him regarding this. In the meantime creative internet searching has yielded some of the books, but others still elude me. Can anyone shed some light on what the following books may be, and which ones are valuable for studying?

List one: Captain Joe’s abbreviations and authors who I can not find:
Marton
Isgott
Baptiste
PTS
ENK
CDG
IMMER
API RP 2D (possibly a Star Wars droid!?)
Ladage
DeKerchove
Petex Primer
Baker
Modern Ship (modern ship what? design? engineering? Etc…)
Hopkins
SWIT
METZ
PNE

List 2: Abbreviations and authors I was able to track down.
MMOH: Merchant Marine Officers Handbook
AMSM: American Merchant Seaman’s Manual
MacElrevey: Ship Handling for the Mariner
Armstrong: Practical Ship Handling
Willerton: Basic Ship Handling for for Masters, Mates, and Pilots
Donn: Meteorology
MFPFFS: Marine Fire Prevention Firefighting and Fire Safety
Brady: Tugs Towboats and Towing

The final component of this lengthy question is which of the above books (known and unknown) should I be adding to my reference library?

I have Chapmans, Knights, Duttons, Farwells, Bowditch, the American Merchant Seaman’s Manual, A Primer on Towing, and all the allowable testing room reference material in hard copy.

LaDage is likely Stability and Trim for the Ship’s Officer

Modern Ships by La Dage again subtitle is Elements of Design, Construction and Operation

DeKerchove is a maritime Dictionary.

I’d recommend MacElrevey and Stability and Trim for sure.

Martin is now Huber, Tanker Ops

ISGOTT - IntlSafety Guide for Tankers and Terminals,

Etc…

Good luck.

1 Like