Please Help. What is the minimum courses needed to Renew my 2nd mate/1600 ton license?

Hello,

I have been struggling to figure this out over the past few months and now I am coming up on licensing expiration. I am your run of the mill 2nd mate unlimited oceans/1600 ton master. I last upgraded in 2017 and did all my required classes then. I do not actively sail and have no plans to in the future but I continue to be employed shoreside and I like having a current license in my back pocket (I am a training instructor/simulator operator). I do not have sea time over the past 5 years and will do the take home test or do the instructor exemption.

I am reading the USCG checklist for renewal and BST/Advance Firefighting/ARPA are not listed on the renewal requirements. I only see them under the STCW checklist. To me it looks like these classes are not required in order to renew but the mariners I work with are insistent that I need to take them.

So the question is, do I need to take the classes in order to just renew my license? Last time I paid out of pocket for these courses and I would really like to avoid having to do that again if I do not need to.

Thank you all.

You will need a basic training refresher, advanced firefighting refresher, and survival craft refreshers for your STCW endorsements. Refreshers, not revalidations.

To keep your national license it may only be an open book test.

May need a radar revalidation or refresher too because of no sea time.

You could just submit for renewal and then see what they ask for from you.

The only class you should have to take is the BST/Fire refresher if you’ve been employed on a vessel and are doing drills, there’s a “revalidation” course if not.
Yes, you have to have basic safety to work on basically anything, according to STCW amendments.