OSV New Hire

Is it normal for the major osv companies to make you pay for your own flight down your first time to get your physical and take your company classes our do they normally fly you?

That doesn’t sound right to me. Maybe they will repay you upon hiring.

When I graduated from the academy, one of companies from the gulf told me that I had to pay for my first trip. Needless to say I turned them down.

Did another company down there fly you or did you work somewhere else?

Last month a friend of mine had to pay for a flight down to Louisiana to do his pre-employment physical, drug test and interview with Hornbeck. They provide him transportation to/from the airport and paid for one night in a nice hotel.

I decided to work deep sea ships

I don’t know of any osv company that will fly you down at their expense for pre employment requirements.

[QUOTE=DP Mate;56429]Last month a friend of mine had to pay for a flight down to Louisiana to do his pre-employment physical, drug test and interview with Hornbeck. They provide him transportation to/from the airport and paid for one night in a nice hotel.[/QUOTE]

Call me a cheap date but I am flattered and truly smitten if they just answer the phone or return an email. Would spot my pants if someone offered a flight and hotel. Guess I’m just old fashioned?

If you have been hired, then they should pay. If you are going to be paid to do this, they should pay. But if your hiring is contingent upon passing this then…you aren’t hired yet. Sounds depressing in this economy, but hey, a job is a job.

If this is the policy at this company when you are a new hire, just wait when they really want to squeeze pennies!