Old so new to the site

Good day my fellow Mariners

I recently foundthis site and the both of information that is posted here is great resource of information.I left the industry 10 years ago put my captains license in continuity and I am in the process of renewal I have a 1600 Oceans 3000 ITCMaster license. spent most of my seat I’m in the Gulf of Mexico in the oil patch.

I will be taking the DP induction courseto add to my list of endorsements. I’m looking for is any advice, information or guidance on where to start to look to get on with a company to get my final DP certification. And realistically what type of pay is available.

First, who did you work for previously and have you checked with them? As far as who’s hiring, most all of your majors but it may start getting slim due to the recent air of a slow down. This is of course if you are looking to get back in the oil patch. I would check with Seacor, HOS, Harvy, Chouest and Gulfmar Not having your DP certificate may be a real hinderance. Maybe not. As for Pay, the range you are most likely looking at a range of $550 to $725 per day to start. Schedules are 28/14, 28/28 and 14/14 with a rumor of one company doing 21/21. Also you may end up having to make the drive and do some door knocking to get a shot at an open slot. Good luck.

If your Lic. is current I would got to MPT and take the Basic DP course out of pocket, Then head to the Bayou. Lot of folks may not want to drop 3K or so and not be guaranteed a job but I would think it would increase your chances. You will be able to pay it back the 1st check.

Pay posted is in line with what I know, which is little. I know our company pays around $625 for training capt. pay. (That’s until you get signed off)

If you don’t get on with one of the big 3 there are many other companies who may be willing to give you a try if you have showed initiative to get your own Basic DP.