Offshore cook job/school

I’m looking for a better cook job. I have 3 years experience, a twic, safe gulf, and water survival. Also if anyone has info about the son of seacook school in alabama I would love to hear it. I’m tired of catering companies taking my money.

[QUOTE=offshorecookdlb;71998]I’m looking for a better cook job. I have 3 years experience, a twic, safe gulf, and water survival. Also if anyone has info about the son of seacook school in alabama I would love to hear it. I’m tired of catering companies taking my money.[/QUOTE]

Hello,

I can not vouch for the SeaSchool program but it seems like a lot to pay if you already have 3 years cooking exp.

Only the large US flag cargo ships, which are almost all union carry a real stew dept.

Besides that, plenty of tugs & OSV’s carry a “Cook” but they usually expect the cook to handle/throw lines, etc in addition to making the meals.

Anyways you will need a MMC, STCW-95 BST and a passport.

If you really want to start over, look into the SIU U/A program in beautiful Piney Point, MD.

If you go through the program you will come out a “Certified Chief Cook” and be qualified to work on the SIU contracted ships… I bet you will make way more doing that than working offshore on the rigs.

Have you tried the search function on this site? An interesting thread earlier this month that mentioned cook jobs on the Great Lakes:

OSVs have cooks and they LOVE actual professional cooks. Try some of the larger osv companies.

I know Hornbeck has their own cooks and only uses third party cooks when necessary. If you have experience put them on your list. Our cooks are not expected to throw lines chip or paint. They cook three meals and keep the galley mess deck are clean.