New Member Intro

I have been reading gcaptain for several years, decided to join the forum, hope to become an active participant here.

I work as a tech rep for EMD Marine and Power Generation here on the West Coast of the US, and have been with GM/DD/MTU/EMD Distributors for the past 25 years.

Admittedly I am not a merchant mariner, but I work with you all on a daily basis.

Cheers,

Brian

7 Likes

Welcome aboard Brian.

1 Like

Hi Brian,

Welcome

1 Like

Was it the eloquent thread on collision avoidance that put you over the top? Whatever it was, welcome.

4 Likes

Welcome Brian, EMD guys have a wealth of knowledge to share. Most of my rigs were 16s and 20s

Thanks for joining. You’ll fit in great. If I still worked with EMD I’d be bugging you all the time for knowledge.

I posted this before but for those who missed it. The grandfather of the EMD engine, the creator of the Winton engine was a mariner, son of a mariner & ship engineer.

2 Likes

Agreed. I have learned much from the EMD techs in my day. A true wealth of knowledge. I have not shied away from stating my love for the fuel guzzling lube oil burners. . . .

4 Likes

Thanks for the warm welcome guys - and yes I am happy to help with any EMD info you may need.

If I don’t have an answer I am sure I have a friend or two that can help!

2 Likes

I loved them too. Never was exposed to the 710s and often wondered if they burned less oil. All the 645s I worked with were turbo charged as well as being pretty bullet and stupid proof. Great engines.

1 Like

For what its’ worth anything with Tier II or later packs (sometimes called UL Packs in the non-regulated engines) are seeing 50%-90% reduction in LO consumption from the previous Stainless Steel Ring design.

We have had many of our customers switch to the UL/Tier Packs and state that they will never go back.

2 Likes