Navy vet looking to join

I am a Navy Vet and I need some guidance on the steps I need to take on becoming a mariner. I have contacted the coast guard and I am in the process of filling out my application and getting my twic taken care of.

I was a machinist mate E-3(sw) worked on a steam ship in the engine room. What do I put down on the application so I can stay in engineering and make sure I get the right qualifications?

Also once all of that is taken care of what steps do I take to find employment? Everything I have heard points me to going to union halls. Is there another option for me?

[QUOTE=mjweichold;59932]I am a Navy Vet and I need some guidance on the steps I need to take on becoming a mariner. I have contacted the coast guard and I am in the process of filling out my application and getting my twic taken care of.[/QUOTE]

First, gather all you records which show your ships, your division(s), your rate(s), your assignments and the dates of such. This is needed for the USCG to determine what certificate eligibility you meet.

[QUOTE=mjweichold;59932]I was a machinist mate E-3(sw) worked on a steam ship in the engine room. What do I put down on the application so I can stay in engineering and make sure I get the right qualifications?[/QUOTE]