Advice: Navy Officer (submariner) Retiring and Working in Maritime Industry

<P>How does an active duty Navy Officer go about becoming a deck officer sailing oceans upon retirement from the Navy?<br><br>I’m an active duty submarine officer, served already as XO (Chief Mate equiv.) and Chief Engineer. I’ll most likely go on to command a submarine soon and then be eligible for retirement at 20.<br><br>I have my application in for my MMD and my deck license. Based on advice of friend and a former REC evaluator, I “aimed high” and requested:<br><br>- MMD <br>- Chief Mate<br>- STCW-95<br><br>Reading the rules I think the evaluator will likely come back and offer me MMD, 3rd mate and no STCW-95 because my sea time is almost all submarines, so I don’t have the requisite 25% surface time to make all of my sea time count. (I am a USNA grad so the CFR regs say I can sit for the 3rd Mate exam based on that). What is really HOPE is that they offer to let me sit for 2nd mate.<br><br>I don’t think they’ll offer me STCW-95 because I don’t have certs from commercial schools for all the tickets (ARPA, GMDSS, Safety/First Aid, Lifeboat, etc…) (I did describe all the Navy equivalent schools, though, hoping the REC would be feeling generous since the list of schools refer very generically to some of the Navy schools).<br><br>Soooo…<br><br>Questions:<br>- Do you think I’m on the mark with what they’ll offer me?<br>- What exams will they ask me to sit for?<br><br>AND<br><br>- Once I’m licensed and retire in a couple of years, how do I start my new career? I want to sail oceans and do work in foreign shipyards. I’m thinking MSC will be my best bet starting out.<br>- Thoughts on union membership? I’ve also thought about joining MM&P once licensed-- should I do so, and if so, should I wait until just before I retire (a few months or so), do it immediately after getting my license, or wait until I’m fully retired and ready to sail? <br><br><br>Lots of info there. Thanks for bearing with me.