Module 011X1

Deck safety and environmental protection.

Does anyone know whats in this module, and where I can find a study guide for it?

Im going for my 500NC Master with the MOTV limited exam.

I’d suggest getting the deck safety Murphy Book. It has all the questions up to what an unlimited master would take, but you should be able to find the limited stuff in there too.

Im studying the module now in my test prep class. It has deck gen and safety, environmental, and stability questions in it. Its a 70 question 70% pass/fail test. Its a 2nd mate - master AGT test module.

Its not fun.

Go to the NMC website and download the most recent questions for that module. It is in PDF format.

I have about 2 inches worth of lapware generated tests that I have done for that module and corrected the right answers on if nothing else I can start cramming those but im slowly catching on. Those CFRs can be tricky to navigate.

I just tried the test for this module on Lapware. Most of the questions are pretty easy, but the scope of the module is quite broad with stability, fuel conservation, ships business, marpol regs, structural, bouyage, bridge openings, and shiphandling questions among others. The topic is a mile wide but only about an inch deep. Remember that you only need to get 70%. You’ll also need a copy of Formulae for the Mariner for the fuel conservation, slip, and speed by RPM problems. There are many sources for the stability formulae. The stability is probably the most difficult part of this. You’ll have the Coast Pilot, Light List, Bowdich, CFRs and Chemical Data Guide in the exam room. It would be a good idea to see what is in them and have some idea how to look up answers. You can get quite a lot out of reading the applicable chapters in Duttons and Bowdich. As a guess there are probably about 5000 questions in the pool for this module.